Presentation of the Julius Wess Award to Prof. Aprile

Aula (FTU) (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Campus North)

Aula (FTU)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Campus North

Hermann von Helmholtz Platz 76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

The Julius Wess Award 2022 goes to Professor Dr. Elena Aprile, Columbia University, in recognition of her outstanding and groundbreaking academic achievements in the field of Dark Matter searches, especially in the development of ultrasensitive detectors.


The Julius Wess Prize is awarded since 2008.

The ceremony will take place on December 16, 2022 at KIT, Karlsruhe.

    • 16:00 16:10
      Welcome 10m
      Speaker: Thomas Hirth (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie)
    • 16:10 16:20
      Introduction to the KIT Centre Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KCETA) 10m
      Speaker: Milada Margarete Mühlleitner (KIT)
    • 16:20 17:05
      On swimming pools and galaxies: Universality in cosmic structures 45m
      Speaker: Matthias Bartelmann (Univ. Heidelberg)
    • 17:05 17:10
      Music contribution 5m
    • 17:15 17:30
      Coffee break 15m
    • 17:30 17:45
      Laudation 15m
      Speaker: Laura Baudis (Uni Zürich)
    • 17:45 17:55
      Presentation of the Julius Wess Award 10m
      Speaker: Thomas Hirth (KIT)
    • 17:55 18:00
      Music contribution 5m
    • 18:00 19:00
      The Quest for Dark Matter with the XENON Project 1h
      Speaker: Elena Aprile (Columbia University)
    • 19:00 20:00
      Reception 1h
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now